6 comments on “35 Reason to Hike the Appalachian Trail

  1. Hi, great picture! These certainly are some great reasons to hike the AT. The AT in Virginia is beautiful, and I in fact saw a Black Bear during my latest trip to Shenandoah National Park!

  2. This graphic was a great find for your blog, the Appalachian Trail is a treasure of the Eastern United States. I hope that mountaintop removal does not remove any portions of the trail. I have only hiked a few short miles of it while in the Blacksburg area, but I loved it!

  3. I love that McAfee’s Knob is the most photographed spot on the AT. I have pictures from there! There are a lot more personal reasons that people hike the AT as well. I have a friend hiking it now. Her father recently passed away from cancer, so she’s hiking the entire trail to raise money and awareness for cancer research. I honestly can’t imagine taking time away from college to do that, but what a great cause and why not do it while you’re young! I’ve been on part of the AT and was surprised that it was just a little footpath. I expected something bigger since it’s so famous and so many people have walked it, but it was an incredibly refreshing experience.

  4. Following my graduation from Tech my dad and I plan on hiking part of the Appalachian Trail and I look forward to being able to say that I have been to some of the places mentioned!

  5. This infographic made me think of A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson, which I had to read during high school. In it, he describes his adventures and struggles traveling along the Appalachian Trail. Bryson traveled the AT with one other companion and they did so in sections, which is much more doable to me. I enjoyed Bryson’s writing style and voice – they made me want to go out and hike the AT myself. However, in reality I don’t think I could handle the extremes of nature and the minimalistic lifestyle that Bryson described – both of which would be necessary to successfully complete the AT. It’s a shame that only 13% of people actually finish the AT due to physical, mental, and other constraints – I think it would be worth it.

Leave a Reply

