4 comments on “Refuge -Terry Temptest Williams

  1. I’m taking a class this semester at VT and we read this book. Even though I am not as passionate about the environment like my professor I was still able to connect to the book and the messages Williams tried to get across to the reader. All around solid read.

  2. You don’t need to be as passionate about the environment as Williams to really get into this book. It details the struggles of losing something or someone you care for. It’s worth picking up.

  3. I really enjoyed this read. It tugged at my heartstrings and drew attention to the human nature relationship. Changes in the environment reflect the changes in us. Society has gotten to a point where we dominate the environment and nature in ourselves so much, that we do not let well enough alone. Instead of Salt Lake City allowing the lake to fluctuate naturally, they manipulate it to save infrastructure that was built around a known flood hazard. We are humans, born to adapt, we need to stop manipulating the land for our own comfort.

  4. Although I am not an out doors or nature person, this book was not as bad as I thought it would be. I learned a lot and I would definitely recommend it to someone who feels the way I do about nature.

Leave a Reply

